As a new graduate, I am finding it incredibly difficult to locate a place that doesn’t require experience. Your email address will not be published. Most provinces recognize NCLEX scores dating back more than 30 years, so most U.S. registered nurses should not be required to repeat testing. Nurse Practitioner Led clinics are an innovative model for delivery of comprehensive primary health care in Ontario and Canada. A smiling border control agent would simply inquire as to the contents of our vehicle and let us pass by without so much as a second glance. Opening your own practice is a lot of work and I admire the commitment of these NPs to their profession. Do nurse practitioners replace other health-care professionals? Review the steps of applying for nurse practitioner licensing closely before beginning the process to avoid making mistakes or doing unnecessary work. In many states, Nurse Practitioners (NPs) can open their own practices. The process costs about $650 and can take up to 12 months. Enlightening information! NPs provide a wide range of direct care services to people at every stage of life. Back then, not even a passport was required to cross the border. I doubt a clinic or hospital would make an offer of employment and then be willing to wait a year for the registration process to be completed. To become an RN in Canada, for many provinces the initial step is to apply through the National Nursing Assessment Service (NNAS). NPs are also leaders, consultants and researchers who incorporate new knowledge into their practice. Apply for nurse practitioner licensure. the latest advanced This process varies somewhat by province. See CNA’s Nursing Statistics section for more information regarding NP numbers across Canada. If you don’t have the required experience, you may need to wait before applying. Nurse practitioners enjoy autonomy by merely becoming an NP, and owning their own practice further enhances their independence. Some provinces such as Saskatchew